• Like us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Add us on Google Plus
  • Subscribe on YouTube
  • Follow us on Instagram

Roar defeat Glory to go top

Brisbane Roar jumped into first place on the A-League table after recording a 2-1 win over Perth Glory on Saturday night.

On a recently re-laid yet somewhat uneven Suncorp Stadium surface, the Roar pushed out to a 2-0 lead through second-half goals from Jamie Maclaren and Henrique, before Perth’s Hagi Gligor pulled a goal back for the visitors.

Brisbane were flying high after an important win over an in-form Melbourne City the previous week. In fact, so satisfied was manager John Aloisi with his team that he elected to name an unchanged squad.

Kenny Lowe settled on one forced change to his Glory squad following a 1-1 draw against the Victory in Melbourne. With Diogo Ferreira injured, Mitch Oxborrow was elevated to the starting line-up from the bench, with youth striker Joe Knowles brought in to fill the empty spot.

The Roar came out with purpose in the first half, with a high-press giving the Glory no time on the ball. Only errant passes in the final third of the field were keeping Brisbane from having a shot on goal in the opening 5 minutes of the match.

In the 6th minute, Dimitri Petratos fired in the first salvos of the match, with a shot on the run curling just wide of the upright, and a deflected shot on goal resulting in a corner less than 60 seconds later.

Petratos’ partner-in-crime, Jamie Maclaren, almost opened the scoring in the 11th minute from an elaborate corner routine. Played short from the corner flag, the ball was crossed long to Petratos who tucked onto his left and floated a cross in toward the spot. Maclaren was in the correct position, but unfortunately his flick-on header flashed narrowly wide of the back post.

Perth’s first foray into the penalty area came in the 16th minute, with some patient build-up allowing Diego Castro to deliver a low ball across the box. The Roar defence were able to intervene and clear the ball away, with youngster Jamal Reiners lurking at the near post for a simple tap-in.

Match Details Full match details »

Date/Time Sat Jan 2, 2016, 5:15 PMStadium Suncorp StadiumAttendance 17,696Referee Chris Beath


Yellow Card44′ B.BorrelloGoal52′ J.MaclarenGoal61′ Henrique


Yellow Card19′ M.WarrenGoal70′ H.Gligor

From that point, the game started to even out. Josh Risdon tried from long range in the 17th minute, but Jamie Young made a comfortable save to his right.

Brisbane, though, were still creating a plethora of chances.

First, Maclaren’s shot from a Petratos cut-back was palmed away by Covic in the 18th minute, before both Jack Hingert and Thomas Broich were denied by fingertip saves in quick succession in the 20th and 22nd minutes.

Chris Harold provided Perth’s best chance of the half on the half-hour mark, but despite unleashing a superb shot across Young, the Roar ‘keeper made a fine save to his right to keep the score at 0-0.

An in-form Castro almost put one in the back of the net minutes later, as Perth started to wrestle control of the match from Brisbane. Despite adjusting his body well to side-foot the ball toward the far corner, Shane Stefanutto was in position to clear the ball off the line, much to the Spaniard’s frustration.

By the end of the half, the contest had almost completely evened up. Daniel Bowles tried a speculative effort from distance in the 41st minute, but Covic made a comfortable save to ensure the score remained 0-0 at the break.

Brisbane started the second half as they did in the first, pressing forward and giving the Glory little space to work in.

They then did what they failed to do in the first half – capitalise. In the 56th minute, a superb turn by Broich opened up the Glory defence, allowing Petratos to feed Maclaren who placed the ball in off the upright to make it 1-0.

John Aloisi introduced Henrique for Borrello in the 59th minute, and it paid immediate dividends. Turning onto his right boot, the super-sub placed the ball over Covic and into the top corner, sending the 17,696 fans in attendance into raptures.

In repsonse, Kenny Lowe made a tactical change of his own, bringing on exciting youngster Hagi Gligor for defender Michael Thwaite.

Just like it did for Aloisi, that change paid off immediately, with Gligor burying a stunning strike in the 71st minute into the top corner past Young to bring the match back to 2-1.

The game continued to ebb and flow as time ticked down. Josh Risdon had a great opportunity in the 86th minute to tie the game up, but Young came out strong to smother the chance and keep the Roar in front.

Marc Warren then had a shot cleared off the line by Jade North in the 87th minute, as the Glory threw everything they had to try and break the Roar down.

Henrique had a chance to put the game beyond doubt in injury time, but Covic stood tall to deny the Brazilian a second goal.


Ultimate A-League ‘Player of the Season’ Votes
3 Jamie Young (Brisbane Roar)
2 Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar)
1 Diego Castro (Perth Glory)

About the author

avatarJustin is a passionate football fan, and the Editor-in-chief of Ultimate A-League.

Share this article