• Like us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Add us on Google Plus
  • Subscribe on YouTube
  • Follow us on Instagram

Nichols stunner extends Wanderers’ winning streak

Western Sydney Wanderers have moved to the top of the A-League ladder after they defeated Brisbane Roar 2-1 on Saturday night at Parramatta Stadium.

In front of an eerily quiet home crowd, due to the absence of the RBB as part of the league-wide active fan boycotts, Mark Bridge and Mitch Nichols were the goal scorers for the hosts, while Jamie Maclaren again found himself on the scoresheet for visitors.

The Wanderers had the first major chance of the game in the 10th minute courtesy of Romeo Castelen, who headed just wide after receiving a cross from Dimas Delgado.

Two minutes later, a powerful curling shot from outside the box by Brisbane’s Jamie Maclaren only narrowly missed the goal.

The Wanderers had another chance to score off a header in the 22nd minute, however Mitch Nichols headed off target from a cross by Mark Bridge.

However, the men in red and black opened the scoring in the 28th minute through Mark Bridge, who received a deflected cross from teammate Romeo Castelen and slid to put the ball into the net.

The next major chance occurred in the 35th minute and levelled the score, after Brisbane’s in form striker Jamie Maclaren beat Wanderers defender Nikolai Topor-Stanley and managed to chip goalkeeper Andrew Redmayne.

Jamie Maclaren had the first major shot of the second half in the 73rd minute, however his strong shot went just wide to the left.

Mitch Nichols then provided a contender for goal of the season in the 79th minute against his former club, after he curled his shot from outside the box past a diving Jamie Young, which lit up the crowd. Nichols, who scored his fifth goal of the season, came off shortly after to a round of applause by the home crowd.

Brisbane almost equalised through highlight-specialist Devante Clut in the 91st minute, however it was saved by goalkeeper Redmayne.

The Wanderers now prepare for a blockbuster top of the table clash against their rivals Melbourne Victory next Saturday night at Parramatta Stadium, while Brisbane are in fourth position and host Wellington Phoenix next Saturday night in the first ever A-League home and away match in Cairns.


Ultimate A-League ‘Player of the Season’ Votes
3 Mitch Nichols (Western Sydney)
2 Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar)
1 Dimas Delgado (Western Sydney)

About the author

avatarTim is a journalism student with a love for the game. He doesn't mind Sydney FC, Panathinaikos and Arsenal.

Share this article