• Like us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Add us on Google Plus
  • Subscribe on YouTube
  • Follow us on Instagram

Nine-man Sydney see off ten-man Glory

A cool evening in Perth made for perfect playing conditions as Perth Glory went down 3-1 to Sydney FC in an intense game of football in round 16 of the A-League.

Coming off a magnificent 5-1 win a fortnight ago, Sydney certainly were capable of taking on the top of the table Glory. Needless to say that win would have boosted their confidence, and with Perth coming off of a 3-3 draw against Melbourne Victory, it would be a tough battle in front of the 11,637-strong crowd.

It was a nothing short of fast paced, heated game between both teams from the get go, that would carry on through the entire game.

Sydney’s Nikola Petkovic was the first to take a shot at goal, coming with a long effort on target but Glory’s Vukovic saw it coming and was able to save the ball before it made its way into the net.

A few minutes later it was Glory’s Andy Keogh having a shot at goal. After receiving the ball from Scott Jamieson, Keogh tried for the header into the net but he pulled the ball just left and the scores remained 0-0.

Glory’s Jamieson and Dragan Paljic paired up to create a formidable force on the left wing as they both looked dangerous up against the Sydney defence.

Match Details Full match details »

Date/Time Sat Feb 7, 2015, 9:30 PMStadium HBF ParkAttendance 11,637Referee Kris Griffiths-Jones


Yellow Card29′ D.PaljicRed Card36′ D.DjulbicYellow Card68′ D.KramarGoal74′ D.Kramar


Yellow Card28′ N.PetkovicPenalty30′ M.Janko (Pen)
Red Card36′ J.FatyPenalty69′ M.Dimitrijevic (Pen)
Second Yellow Card71′ N.PetkovicYellow Card73′ M.DimitrijevicYellow Card76′ A.GersbachGoal89′ B.Ibini-Isei

A penalty was awarded to Sydney in the 30th minute as Paljic conceded foul play after pulling on Alex Bosque’s shirt, and was duly shown a yellow card. The penalty effort was spot on for Marc Janko and Sydney took the 1-0 lead.

Being on the losing side saw the Glory boys start to show some frustration, as they took the ball to the opposite side of the field. An off-target attempt by Nebojsa Marinkovic created a scuffle in the penalty area resulting in Glory’s Dino Djulbic and Sydney’s Jacques Faty shown red cards for fighting, and ordered to leave the field.

With a readjustment to a 10 v 10 game, both teams were fired up and raring to go again.

A magnificent diving save by Sydney’s Vedran Janjetovic saw the score remain at 1-0 in favour of Sydney going into half time.

Following the break, the pace of the game certainly didn’t let up as both teams were determined to win.].

A free kick from Marinkovic saw Glory nearly equalise but the shot at goal went narrowly over the cross bar.

Fresh legs from Perth’s Danny De Silva wasn’t enough to even the scoreboard as Sydney were awarded another penalty, after Janko was brought down by new signing Denis Kramar. With Milos Dimitrijevic taking the shot, it didn’t look like missing and Sydney doubled their lead.

However, Glory’s chances of getting that ever needed goal were increased as Nikola Petkovic of Sydney was shown a red card for a deliberate handball — his second yellow card offence of the match. The free kick awarded to Glory was unsuccessful, though, but it would only be a matter of minutes later before they finally put the ball into the net.

Another free kick was awarded to the home team and Denis Kramar, after receiving the rebound from Michael Thwaite, prodded the ball home.

With two missed free-kicks and the clock ticking down to full time, Glory needed to keep their attack strong and they did just that. However, Sydney were also strong in defence and it took only a moment of weakness from the Glory defenders to extend the Sydney lead to 3-1.

An open field saw Sydney’s Bernie Ibini rush through one-on-one with Vukovic. Ibini wasn’t going to miss with the net wide open on the second attempt, as his well-placed header extended the lead at the 90 minute mark.

But that didn’t stop the Glory from giving it their all in the four minutes of extra time — however, it wasn’t enough for the home team as they walk away having dropped all three points, and now have Melbourne Victory breathing down their necks.


Ultimate A-League ‘Player of the Year’ Votes
3 Marc Janko (Sydney FC)
2 Milos Dimitrijevic (Sydney FC)
1 Scott Jamieson (Perth Glory)
Youth Alex Gersbach (Sydney FC)

About the author

avatarGemma is a freelance journalist, and a contributor to Ultimate A-League.

Share this article